5+5+5+5 = 201

200thepisodeI missed my 200th post!  That is monumental and yet instead of shouting from the roof tops that I had hit post #200 and still had some readers to boot I wrote about operating systems, and bum power cords!  To say that this blog has changed its pace is a total understatement.

The above explains the 201 in the title, as this is my 201st post.

The 5+5+5+5 is not in regard to Subw@y’s $5 footlongs.

No, its in regard to the insulin dose that finally seems to be working.  My endocrinologist is slowly coming to realize that I am not placated by trial and error, but she is at least a good sport about it.   I also realize that I never did fully explain the reason behind poking myself 4 times a day in both the belly and what ever finger happens to be the unlucky sport at any given time of the day.

My old endocrinologist was satisfied enough with my over all glucose levels however the new endocrinologist as well as myself was not.  As I mentioned before my A1C was climbing.  Under ordinary circumstances the first course of treatment would have been to add a secondary oral to my current oral regime.  Those would have been Glyburide, Actos, or Avandia.  The endocrinologist was not comfortable prescribing those to a woman of child bearing age so that gave us two options.  Do nothing, and continue with an OK A1C, for after all I was below 7.0, or to put me on a low dose of insulin.  We originally discussed a low dose after breakfast, lunch, dinner and then at bed but first she wanted me to check my levels and we would re-evaluate.  Of course in doing so we discovered a pattern, and that pattern was that I didn’t have a pattern.  For no reason other than the sky is blue and the grass is green I would go from 200+ before a meal to normal 2 hours after a meal, and back again.  Hence the decision for low and slow.

When that didn’t work I called the nurses line and requested that Dr. T call me back.  As before she did so almost immediately, half expecting me to tell her that I had bottomed out.  She wanted me to continue on the same regime only with an increase at bed time, where as I demanded that we try the original protocal.  She relented, and with a little tweaking we found what works.  5 at breakfast, 5 at lunch, 5 at dinner, and 5 at bed.  That dose keeps me at roughly 100 give or take 10-20 points.  In other words perfect.

Someone asked how I felt about going on it.  I am ambivilent.  As the endocrinologist pointed out, I am of child bearing age–and given that I have recently achieved a pregnancy why risk being on a drug that would put another at higher risk.  This wasn’t the deciding factor in my decision to do it, but given that we aren’t preventing a pregnancy at this time it makes sense not to rock an already precariously placed boat.  I figure that within the year if I am not pregnant again that we will be preventing it, and at that time we can always switch to one of the orals that was above mentioned.

4 responses to “5+5+5+5 = 201

  1. congrats on the 200th blog and on finding the right dosage to keep everything as it should be.

  2. Glad you found a dose that is working well.

    Congrats on 200!

  3. I am glad you found an insulin regime that works for you. You are absolutely right – there is no reason to risk oral meds. And the needle is tiny, right?

    Congrats on your 200th post!!!!

  4. Congrats on your 200th!! Hmmm wonder what # post I’m on???

    I’m certainly glad you’ve got yourself on a dosage that works even if it’s 4 shots.

Leave a Reply

