So Over It…

Wow,  what a way to spend 4 days off!  Well 2 of 4 days off anyway.

Friday was horrifically awful as my previous post mentioned.  Poor Jacob had it much worse than I did.  While I was done with the vomiting and the gastero issues by later in the afternoon he was still vomitting into the wee hours of Saturday morning.  Nothing says loving like going to the all night grocery store at 1 a.m. with your own temperature of 101.08 to get your spouse Coke, Maalox, and Motrin since Tylenol wasn’t breaking the fever.  I think the last time I was that weary and driving was when he was in the hospital in May.

Saturday morning we woke up and while we were both about as energetic as wrung out wash rags we couldn’t wait to get to the mall.  HUGE mistake.  Do you hear me…HUGE mistake.  Type 2 diabetic + not eating a full meal for36+ hours + 70 degree temperatures + dehydration =’s potential for disastor.  The mall was unussually crowded due to the sales, but I was determined to help stimulate the economy.  Almost immediately on the treck however I knew something was wrong.  Jacob continually offered to take me home, but I refused to be detered.  By Penney’s however I was on the verge of collapse.  I was sweating profusely and was feeling faint.  I was certain that I was experiencing a relapse, and not a glucose level of 47.  OOPS.  Thankfully 12 oz. of cold Coke and a rest stop later I inceased my sugar enough to allow us to proceed to home instead of to the ER.  We ventured out later in the evening where a deal with hubby was struck–he gets  to build his computer (the parts arrive on Friday) and I get a Wii-when they are ever back in stock!

This morning we slept soundly until 9 despite going to bed early by our standards.  Sleep over came us and refused to let go, thus our morning plans were wrecked but neither of us seemed to mind.  Our appetites are still not up to par, and my weight is down 5 lbs, though I so don’t suggest my mode of diet for the new year.  We are hoping by the drop of the ball that we are 100% back to normal…but back to normal or not I am so over being sick.

5 responses to “So Over It…

  1. Ugh! I hope you kick it for good in the early part of the week!!

  2. That sounds horrible! Yuck! I hope you both are feeling back to your normal selves soon.

  3. That sounds awful. Hope you guys recover real soon!

  4. Hope you feel better soon and can enjoy New year’s.

  5. I am happy you are feeling better.

    Lots of rest and a little champagne and you will be bringing the New Year right!

Leave a Reply

