Yummy!

This is TOTALLY STOLEN FROM JAMIE but oh my, you have to try this!

This is fudge

dscf3650Delicious peanutbutter chocolate fudge.  Now if you have read Jamie’s post you know what it is made from, but if you haven’t read along.

1 can of Betty Crocker Chocolate Icing–NOT WHIPPED

1 bag of Reeses Peanut Butter Chips

Here is where my process deviates from Jamie’s so read both and decide which works best.

Melt the chips for 90 seconds in the microwave.  Here I had some difficulty.  What worked best for me was to melt small layers at a time for 30 seconds at a time for a total of 90 seconds.

Melt the icing for 90 seconds and then add to the melted chips.  Stir together, and melt for an additional 30 seconds if lumpy.

At this point I added a pinch of salt (1/16th tsp) and 1 tsp of vanilla.  Stir together.

Add to a foil lined 8X8 pan and put in the fridge until hard.

I made 3 flavors-chocolate peanut butter, butterscotch vanilla, and chocolate with toffy.

dscf3652

I am going to get those Chinese take out containers at the craft store and add 4 of each flavor and then give to my co-workers for Christmas.

After reading Jamie’s blog I did a search and found many variations of this recipe.  The main components are the icing, but the flavors differ as do the chips.  You can use white chips with white icing and add cherries.  You can use chocolate icing and and mint chips.   You can add marshmallows, nuts, or any other candy that your heart desires.

Thank you Jamie for sharing this recipe!  I can’t wait to try more variations!

5 responses to “Yummy!

  1. Yay! You know how you recommend something and tell someone it is super easy and then think to yourself, “Crap – I hope she thinks so, too!” Okay, maybe it is just me but I am so happy you liked it!

    I do the same thing as far as stirring at 30 sec intervals – I am a notorious chocolate scorcher. I can’t believe I didn’t put that in there. I like the vanilla and salt. I will definitely try that next time!

    Mmmmm . . . excellent ideas on the variations!!

  2. Sounds easy enough even I could attempt to make it.

    Thanks for sharing.

  3. This sounds good enough for me to try to make.

  4. I was reading everything else but the fudge caught my eye – mmmmmmmmm! I may have to make me some of that…

  5. OMG! fudge AND peanut butter!? DO NOT GET ME STARTED!

Leave a Reply

