What Goes Up…

Must come down right?

Today was my follow up with Dr. L, my PCP for my blood pressure.  I was a bit nervous going in to be honest.  All that talk of ACE inhibitors, beta blockers, and the like scared the creeping crud out of me.  Each of those brought with them varying degrees of “is this or is this not safe” during TTC time.  So imagine my delight when Dr. L’s medical assistant took my pressure and it was 136/83.  Basically a little elevated, but otherwise completely innocuous pressure.

Bottom line, I do NOT need any medication as of right now.  I have been told that in 10, 15, maybe even 20 that I will but right now I do not.  However the pill is NEVER an option for me.  So IVF then is NEVER an option because they control the cycle with birth control pills.  He said this in non negotiable.  He said it was remarkable that my BP after one week on BC was 150/90, and then just a month later even after being on Provera that I am totally normal.  He said if I am going to ever consider taking the pill again that he would advise that I see another PCP because he would not be pleased.  However as far as IUI goes since there is no birth control prep he has issued the all clear!  So I am really excited about that.

I can’t believe the upswing that Jacob and I are on!  First his clean bill of health and then mine.  How do you get so lucky after such a swing of bad?  Or is this like the economy…eliptical?  Yes, perhaps that is it…what goes up much come down and vice versa!

6 responses to “What Goes Up…

  1. Cassie (DS Friend)

    Oh, Susan, this is great news. Hopefully all this good Karma will stick with you for some time to come:)

  2. You’ve been through so much bad stuff lately. It’s nice to see that you’re on the opposite end of the spectrum. I hope this upswing continues for a long, long time.

  3. Glad your BP is back down. FYI – I didn’t go on BCP with my IVF cycle, they just made us use contraception so that we couldn’t get pregnant… it might still be an option if you want it to be.
    ***HUGS***

  4. Erin from Massachusetts

    There are other IVF protocals that do not involve BCPs… could you explore those?

    Take care!
    E

  5. Great news! I am glad things are looking up for you lately.

  6. Hi, so glad to hear that your BP is looking better!

    Like others have said, there are many protocols that don’t involve BCP’s. I only used BCP’s in 1 of my 7 IVF’s!!

Leave a Reply

