Take Me To The Whale Pool Please

We are lucky in Allegheny County to have so many parks that include so many fine pools. Boyce Park is one of those, and as luck would have it theirs is a wave pool. I took Sara aka “Nostradamus” for her first dip in it last year, at which time she re-named it the Whale Pool. Now I don’t know if that was because I actually dared show up in public wearing a bathing suit, or if she simply thinks there are whales in the pool. At any rate, we headed there this weekend.

With temperatures reaching above 90 and my pool currently being out of commission it was time for the inaugural trip to the whale pool. That child is fearless. She would tip toe as far out into the “deep end” as she could go and then try to swim as best she could. It didn’t matter if the bell rang, signaling that the waves were to begin or not. So long as she was practicing being a fish she was content. Until she took a wave to the face, at which time I became a human tree, and she the monkey. Making matters more difficult was that her older brother accompanied us, and while he is an avid swimmer, I had instructions of “No one better drown” before we left. I am pleased to report I took two children, the same amount that I arrived with home in the same manner in which I found them.

Today, we were to head to Kennywood for Jacob’s company picnic, but with temperatures again being in the mid 80’s at wake up that wasn’t to happen. Instead we had a fight, then we made up.  After that, we headed to Home Depot, came home where I mowed the back 40…complete with pool mishap…and then another fight. See, Jacob is frustrated because he still isn’t feeling 100%. He is at about 80%, but it was just to darn hot to consider going out. My frustration came from yet another weekend that seemed to be wrecked–at least for Jacob’s and my plans. Once the screaming and gnashing of the teeth was done we decided to head to the mall. After the mall we headed to Wal-Mart, where I had one goal. I needed a box of OPK’s.

Once at Wal-Mart we looked at the electronic section, and then the pool chemical options. After that, we walked out of Wal-Mart having spent no money. It wasn’t until we were turning onto Wilbur Avenue that I looked at Jacob and said “I forgot to buy my OPKs” Yup, it was then that I realized the best laid plans in my house are never going stay planned for long…and that I should never go to Wal-Mart without a list.

4 responses to “Take Me To The Whale Pool Please

  1. Have I ever said how much I enjoy reading your writings? 🙂 You are a crack up.

  2. Wal-Mart aka “the crazy house” you left without buying anything how is that possible.

    I thought every one going to Wal-Mart came out spending at least 50.00 and then when you get home and realize you did not get what they went to get in the first place.

    A list is the best idea when going to the crazy house.

  3. I am sorry that you forgot your opks. I am also sorry that you had a bummer weekend. The story about the whale pool was funny though. Glad all the kids survived despite the monkey in the tree part. Hope all is going well for you after your fights. Atleast if it is hot next weekend, we have air conditioning.

  4. ARGH!! I am sorry you forgot to buy your OPKs but I am glad I am not the only person that does the same thing!

    Actually, you should give yourself a pat on the back for leaving Wal-Mart without buying anything. What really frustrates me isn’t just when I go to Wal-Mart for one thing and end up spending $100, but when they pack my $100 worth of stuff into two sacks. If I am going to spend that much money, I want to at least FEEL like I bought a bunch of stuff!

Leave a Reply

