Almost Home!

I am PLEASED…no, that is an understatement, I am ELATED to report that Jacob is doing 5000% better!  He had a re scope done today, and it shows that the clot is gone.  There is little chance of a re bleed.  He basically has 2 ulcers that were side by side.  The doctors say it is unusual for them to bleed to the magnitude that Jacob did.  The resident calls him an enigma because he is not a smoker, not a drinker, and not a drug user.  They suspect that this was caused by caffeine, but even that is speculative.  He is however to give up his two cans of beer a year.  Yes I said a year.  He also has to switch to Tylenol instead of Aleve.  Plus he is NOT allowed to have regular soda.  EVERYTHING he drinks must be decaf.

The GI doctor who did his scope in the ER was who did his scope today.  He told him “you were very sick when you came in, you didn’t realize how critical you were”  Just typing that again makes me cringe.  I KNOW how close I came to loosing him, and I don’t want to relive that again.  The doctor would like to see him again in 6 weeks.  He will come home with Nexium, and thats it.  No additional restrictions.

He is groggy from his twighlight sleep, but he was eating a turkey sandwich when I got back to his room from a quick trip home.  Dinner will be salsbury steak.  So he is off of restrictions.  Thank heavens.  He had the transfusion IV removed, and is on NO drips.  He does have a hep lock in “just in case”  but we aren’t going there!  We are thinking positively.  We are truly blessed.

We are HOPING that he will go home tomorrow…but if not then, then Saturday.  Oh how I can’t wait.  i will sleep so much better!

6 responses to “Almost Home!

  1. Glad to hear that the patient is doing A LOT better. THat is great news on all accounts. I am hoping for discharge tomorrow but Saturday is good too. It sounds as though he his recovering really well. Glad everything is working out.

    Do you need me to hide some pop cans with non-decaf stuff in my car? I already have my husband’s stash of stuff in the car. I can add your husband’s stuff too.

  2. Yipee!!!!!!!!! I am so glad for both of you! Caffeine is very dangerous. They told me NOt to drink it after my stroke because your heart racing from the caffeine can let a clott pass. I haven’t touched the stuff since Nov 15th of 2002. 🙂

  3. Happy to hear that he’s doing much better…that must be a huge relief for you. I can’t imagine the emotions that were running through you. Just know that I’m thinking of you both and sending ((HUGS))

  4. So glad Jacob is ok!! I had stomach ulcers at 19 and I was put on Nexium. They attributed my ulcers to stress and aleve. Now, at almost 25 I can drink beer without any issues but if I have the slightest bit of hard liquor, the horrible pain in my belly returns. A bit of advice the doc gave me…whatever you put in your mouth, imagine rubbing it across an open wound. If it would hurt the wound, it will hurt the ulcer. After 2 months of nexium and a job change, my stomach was clear!!! Good Luck!

  5. I am so happy that he is coming home. Nexium is the best meds. I have a family history of ulcers and acid reflux.

    When I was first discovered that I had acid reflux when I went to dr with chest pain and pressure. They did a scope on me to see how bad the damage was. It was a mess. I thought I was have heart problems relieved to find out it was acid reflux.

    I was given a rx for Nexium but the insurance at the time would not cover it and I was stuck taking OTC pepcid and the like.

    Once I started working in a dr office I was able to get samples of Nexium in the right mg. With in 6 months all the chest pain and pressure was gone!

    Now I keep a rx for Nexium, It is hard for me to give up the caffeine but I do it from time to time.

    Praying for the continue return to strong health for Jacob and peace of mind and sleep for both of you.

    HUGS!

  6. That’s fantastic. I’m so glad he’s doing so well. I was very worried.

Leave a Reply

