A Quicky…

Jacob is in the ICU unit where he will remain for 48 hours.  They are like a prison, you can only visit at certain times of the day w/only 2 people at a time.  Boy do I think MIL and I are going to be jockeying for position here soon!

I was able to get an “early pass” when I called in after 9 and spoke to his personal nurse.  Since it was my first time.  I met his potential surgeon if things go South.  Jacob is able to speak, but his throat is sore from the endo scope.  I told him he has a lot of prayers swirling from blog land.  His concern was that we WONT be going to Cedar Point on Saturday…uhm NO, I don’t think so.  He was also a little peaved that they are keeping him for so long.  He doesn’t realize loosing 2 liters of blood is NOT a good thing!

His color is greatly improved, but his lips are still pale.  His BP is holding which is good, and there has been no new bleeding since the scope.  They also “up graded” him if you will to 60/40 chance of this healing without need for surgery.  So that is a relief.  Of course every time the phone rings since I have been home (we live 25 minutes from hospital) I panic that its them telling me he has gone South.  Gulp.

I am going to go.  Its time for me to head back to the hospital.  I will update you as needed.
Thank you everyone please continue your prayers.  Even if God doesn’t listen to me…he obviously is listening to you!

9 responses to “A Quicky…

  1. I am glad he is doing a little better. The icu unit can be tough because they are so strict. It is just because they want the patient’s to get better but it can make for a long day. Even when going home inbetween times because when you aren’t there you worry. Even if you are there, you can’t do anything but sit and wait but atleast you feel closer to the situation. I continue to think about you both and hope for continued healing for Jake.

  2. OMG! I am so sorry you and Jacob are going through this. I’m praying for a speedy recovery WITHOUT surgery.

  3. Cassie (DS Friend)

    You two have been thru so much. I’m so sorry to hear about all of this. You both will be (as always) in my thoughts and prayers.

  4. journey to junior

    delurking to say OMG, i am so sorry you and jacob are going through this. my best thoughts coming your way…

  5. I wish you the best and tell Jake to get well soon.

  6. Popped over from L & F. Sorry about your ordeal. I’m an ICU nurse myself, and know it can be a stressful unpleasant experience. It’s too bad the unit does not have the more enlightened policy of 24/7 visiting hours for family- this is when you need family most.

  7. I haven’t been reading lately, sorry, but I’m so sorry to catch up and hear all this. I’m glad to hear he’s a little bettter, but yeesh.

  8. Still prayin.’

  9. Sending many many positive and healing thoughts to your husband that he can skip the surgery and will soon be home and feeling much better.

Leave a Reply

