If I Don’t Laugh…I May Cry…

Just when I was about to give up on the doctors office calling the phone finally rang.  It was Christy, and my level is @ 48.  Not only am I a slow riser, but I am also a slow decender too.  We were hoping for less than 5 so that I could start my Nuva Ring on Sunday.  Yet with the level being 48, there is just no way.  This has completely ruined my plans.

See, I finally decided today why I didn’t want to try again.  It isn’t because I am afraid of another miscarriage.  No, its not that at all.  Its because of how this who situation was handled.  So I put together a plan.  Since the lab tech was confident that given HCG’s half life was 48 hours even on the down side we were sure that I would be below 5 today.  Thus began my plan.

I called the Baby Factory today and got some information.  The IVF coordinator was very helpful.  Since I became pregnant with ovarian stimulation only she felt that I would become pregnant again without much assistance.  She also informed me that they do not have a “monthly maitenance fee” which Dr. T’s office does.  Again here, you deal mostly with PA’s and nurses, but I am learning that this is the case everywhere.  So I figured out some numbers and then called back.

My level was to be at 0 today.  So I was going to start the Ring.  I would then give Dr. T’s office one more chance.  Ovulation would possibly be on Fathers Day.  AF then would be due around the 29th.  If she showed, all the better because my appointment with the abby factory is at 9 a.m. on July 2nd or cycle day 3.  Perfect.  Yet now, since I am still at 48, there is no way.  I will be in the 2 ww during that consultation, and that just won’t work.   I wanted to be either CD 3, or I wanted to be able to cancel the appointment because I was pregnant again.

Why can’t anything about this be simple?  Oh well, back to the drawing board.  I guess I will call them next Friday or maybe the following Monday…by then I will know what my numbers will be, and then I can confidently make an appointment.  Yeah right.  Who am I kidding?

5 responses to “If I Don’t Laugh…I May Cry…

  1. I can’t believe it. They say half life. obviously not. So you have to go back, can you believe it. I am sure you are so frustrated by this. If the loss itself wasn’t hard enough now you have to deal with this for weeks on end. Frankly I am frustrated for you.

  2. Hi There!

    First of all, I wanted to tell you how sorry I am for your loss. I’m going through my 2nd miscarriage in a year and it’s the most excrutiating pain anybody should ever have to suffer.

    Second, I wanted to tell that I’m a slow dropper as well. Last year, I had my D&C on May 14 and my numbers weren’t down to 0 until July 3rd.

    I just wanted to let you know that you’re not alone in waiting for the numbers game.

  3. It’s a shame that we can never rely on our bodies to do what’s normal.

    I’m so sorry that things are working out as you thought they would.

  4. I am sorry. I was sure it would be zero.

  5. Wow. This is crazy! I can’t believe your numbers! Sorry. 😦

Leave a Reply

